Katzenjammer

People of the Book

Leave a comment

9780670018215I have wanted to read People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks for a while now. I bought it last year and just let it sit on the shelf and languish away. Then two weeks ago I picked it up and read it in just a few days.

This book is based on the events around the Sarajevo Haggadah. I actually looked up the pictures that are in the Haggadah to see if they are as amazing as described in the book and they are. I would love to go there and see the book in person, or get one of the copies that have been made about the book. I know that is not going to happen as a copy of the book is over $100 used, and I am not sure if I want to go to Sarajevo for any other type of touristy thing.

Back to the book. When I first met the main character I did not like her at all. Then I realized that she is just a part of the story of the book. The true main character is the Haggadah. I know that sounds strange and I might be the only one out there who reads it that way but that is how I see the story being told. The book is broken up into sections the present and the past. One of the stories of the past is based on actual events. The others are supposed based on items found in and on the book. The history in here is amazing I love how much I did not know and how the book makes me want to learn more.

For me in the book was an added bonus. One of the stories in the past has a suggested relationship between two women. Woot!

Leave a Reply

