Katzenjammer

Honeyed Words

Leave a comment

9780765364104

I read Honeyed Words by J.A.Pitts for the TBR challenge, it is hard for me to realize that my list is almost finished. I have just a few more then I am done with this challenge. It is almost October, and I have a lot of reading to do to catch up on all that I need or want to read this year. However, I am to be writing on the book I read not what I want to read in the near future.

Honeyed Words is the sequel to Black Blade Blues. This book continues the story of Sarah Beauhall and her adventures. This books is very different than the first one. The first one was all action, running, and fights. This book is more about Sarah and who she is. There is more about the relationship with Katie, more focus on her life as a blacksmith and dealing with the aftermath of the first book.

One of the things I love about Honeyed Words and Black Blade Blues is that the relationship between Sarah and Katie is just there. It is not the focus, it is not shoved at the reader, and they hang out with people of all genders. Not just other lesbians, there are heterosexual couples, a few bisexuals. Just like in life a mixture. That is very refreshing when most books that have a lesbian hero have her just hang out with other LGTB people.

I do think that in this book the plot is leading up to something bigger than what is in this book. It is almost as if the author is setting up the next move. I can’t wait to read the next book.

My favorite quote from this book is:” In great moments of fear and loss, we turn to our totems, our relics, to seek answers from the unanswerable. To seek those who have gone before, and unravel the mysteries that plague our dreams. “

Leave a Reply

