Katzenjammer

R.I.P

9 Comments

lavinia-portraitRIP300

It is that time again. One of my favorite times of the year, and thanks to Carl over at Stainless Steel Droppings I know that fall is soon approaching. Carl has put up the Readers Imbibing Peril again. I love this. It makes me want to have soup, fresh bread and hot cups of tea with a good book, while it rains. That makes me happy thinking about it.

This year I am going to do Peril the First. That is to read four books that fall under the genres of:

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural

I always try to get horror novels. This is the only time that I try to read horror novels. This time I am looking at reading;

NOS4A2 by Joe Hill

The Dark by James Herbert

Blackbirds by Chuck Wendig

Summer of Night by Dan Simmons

Well, this is my list. Wish me luck on finding them all.

 

 

9 thoughts on “R.I.P

  1. Great picks, I want to read all except Blackbirds which I read last year. Herbert is becoming one of my favorite writers. Have you read his short novel, The Rats?

  2. Oh my gosh, soup and fresh bread sounds sooooo good. My mouth is watering and I can smell the bread baking. Those are favorites of mine come Autumn too, as well as turkey legs during Fall festivals and a good bowl of chili.

    Great to have you with us again this year. I’ll have to look up, The Dark. Sounds intriguing.

  3. I’m interested to hear what you think of Nos4a2… I just read Horns and had really mixed feelings about it. I liked Heart-Shaped Box more, but I still didn’t love it. I’m wondering if Joe Hill just isn’t for me!

    • This is going to be my first Joe Hill book, so I will be very interested in it. I do know that I have read some authors that turn out are just not for me.

  4. NOS4A2 – LOVED IT, it’s perfect for this challenge. I hope you enjoy it as well, it’s so absorbing. I got completely caught up in Christmasland.

Leave a Reply

