Katzenjammer

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

Leave a comment

9780812983456

I read The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce for the TBR challenge. This is the story of a man who is stuck in his life, the routine that he and his wife have fallen comfortably into. Then one day he gets a letter from an old co-worker/friend he wrights a letter in response and walks it to the mailbox. From there he just keeps going. I will admit that parts of the story were a bit dull, but it is about reflection and walking.

I read this one day and it left me much to think about. I am still thinking about what it is that he did and went through on his walk. He is motivated by a misguided belief that will eventually change his life.  There are some surprises in the story that I think would be spoilers to talk about, but for me they did make the characters and their motivation much more interesting. This book took me a night to read, that was not because of the pace or the story it was because I had to stop and think about what I had read.

At one point in the story Harold picks up followers, each there with a purpose that is unique to themselves. Some of the followers I liked and enjoyed other I would have liked to slap.

Take a day, a cuppa and read this book see if it makes you think.

Leave a Reply

