Katzenjammer

Shelf Life Fantastic Stories Celebrating Bookstores

2 Comments

9781607013587

 

I love short stories, and I love book, and I love bookstores. Shelf Life Fantastic Stories Celebrating Bookstores Edited by Greg Etter fit the bill on all of this. Sixteen short stories that are amazing, some I liked more than others. Of course “Pixels Pixies” by Charles de Lint is one of my favorite, I just love his writing.  In the de Lint story a bookstore owner has her computer turned on in the middle of the night, and the pixies escape the internet. They have to find a way to recapture them.

The other story in there that has become one of my favorites is “I am Looking For a Book..” by Patrick Weekes. “I an Looking For a Book” is just so funny. It is the story of an evil overlord who is looking for an ultimate source of power in a big box bookstore.

I know that everyone will have their own favorite stories in a book like this. If you get a chance to find it see what ones that you like.

2 thoughts on “Shelf Life Fantastic Stories Celebrating Bookstores

  1. This sounds pretty good actually. I love charming small bookstores, whether new or used. They are fast going the way of the dodo bird though, aren’t they? Because of hypocrites like me, I guess. If I buy this book, I’ll buy it from Amazon. I’ve thrown in the towel and accepted the New Order of Things.

    • I try to avoid amazon at all cost. If I can’t find a book at the library or at a local store I go for Powells. That is why all my links are to their site.

Leave a Reply

