Katzenjammer

The Sisters Brothers

2 Comments

Image

 

So first of   I have to talk about the cover of this book. I just love it. Cool and yet creepy. Good job on that one. Secondly I have talk about the inside of the book. Like most people I love reading books about where I have been or lived even if it is in the wrong time period. I can learn something about that place that has meaning to me. When I found out that The Sisters Brothers by Patrick De Witt was written between Oregon City and San Francisco I had to read this book.

This book when it came out got a lot of hype from the blogs and that caused trepidation on my part. I am one of those people who find that most books, movies, or whatever happens to be BIG just does not do it for me. I think it is me no everyone else, but  could be wrong on that. As I hear more about this book I wanted to read it. Then one day in Powell’s I bought a copy, and it sat on my shelf gathering dust. Well, tonight I picked it up hoping for a quick read. It was quick read, most of the chapters are short just a few pages and that makes it seem to be a faster read. Then at 325 pages it took just about 3 hours to get through, it might have been shorter but I had to stop a few times. Now, on to the book.

I liked it, I thought it was a great book. It is not one that I am going to keep, but it is one that I would recommend to people I know who like westerns that are a bit strange. I am not sure how else to describe it, it is a bit strange for a western. The people that the brothers meet are an odd mixture. Some we see for only a bit of time, others are in and out of the story, and still others are just in passing. I want to say this would be almost like reading the movie Fargo, in the character department, but that is not quite right.

 

2 thoughts on “The Sisters Brothers

  1. Well, this has piqued my interest. Adding it to my wishlist.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

