Katzenjammer

The Weed That Strings The Hangman’s Bag

6 Comments

6777616

The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag by Alan Bradley

This book like the first one was a great fun romp. While the murders are the focal point of the story for me the best part was learning more about the de Luce family and the history of the little village that they live in. As we get to know more about her family and the villagers it makes me want to go back and read all of the Thrushgreen and Fairacre books my Miss Read.

I think that Flavia de Luce is one of the best characters created in a long while. While she seems mature above her age, there are times when she is just an 11 year old. I am happy to introduce her to all kinds of readers. I should get a copy of the first book and send it off to my niece I think she would like Flavia.

When reviewing a book of fiction it is hard not to give anything away about the plot, or any of the other important bits. So I try to be well vague when I write up a review, but I do want others to go out and read the books as well. I started reading this book at 2300 last night and other than a break for coffee, and the bathroom I read it thought and finished it at 0430.

By the way the first line in the book is, “I was laying dead in the churchyard.”

I cannot wait to be able to read the next one.

6 thoughts on “The Weed That Strings The Hangman’s Bag

  1. It’s a great title — really grabs my attention!

  2. I’ve read all of the Flavia books and they are all good! I hope you enjoy it as well~

  3. These just get better and better, both with getting more focused on Flavia and her family and also with revealing more 11-year-old-ish moments. I especially found that true in listening to the audio of the latest, Speaking from Among the Bones.

Leave a Reply

