Katzenjammer

Once Upon a Time Reading Challenge

Leave a comment

once7mainbanner300

I have decided that I am going to do just one post for all of the books that I have read for Carl’s Once Upon A Time reading challenge. I know that I had a list, but I did not read all of the books that are on there. I sill plan to, it is just that four books with over 500 pages just seemed a bit much. So I read Quag Keep, Fluke, and Wildwood from the list. I also read Tapping the Dreaming Tree, and Homeland. So without further ado my thoughts on the books.

Quag Keep by Andre Norton For an Andre Norton book I did not like this one. Thank goodness it was short. This is to have been the first book written on a RPG and it seemed to me that half way into the book the plot was lost. As a gamer and someone who reads books based on RPG’s this one was a big disappointment. Keep in mind that I have been reading this type of book for years and as such going back to the first one might make me a bit jaded.

Wildwood by Colin Meloy and Carson Ellis This book was a clunker that is for sure but such a fun read that I did not notice that it was just a bit over 500 pages. One of the things that I loved about this book was the setting. I have played in the “Impassable Wilderness” as a kid. It was one of my favorite places to go. When Mr. Meloy talks about the “Long Road” I know what road he is talking about. There is a second book and I cannot wait to read that one.

Tapping the Dreaming Tree by Charles de Lint Anyone who knows me well, knows that de Lint is one of my most favorite authors in the whole of the wide world. I love his light stories and his dark ones. Tapping the Dreaming Tree is a book of 18 short stories, some that made me cringe and a few that had me laughing like a loon. My favorite story out of all of them is “Pixel Pixies”. Why? Because I can see that happening, but that is just it will his stories there is always something in there that makes you think that it can happen.

Homeland by R.A. Salvatore This is a book based on an RPG. Homeland is about a Drow or dark elf who does not fit into where he was born and his upbringing. I know it seems kind of silly to go into that much background for a book, however it is just the start of many books that Drizzit is in. Some he is the main character and in others he has a supporting roll. With out this background he is a character that is not easily understood. I will be rereading all of his stories.

Fluke: Or, I know Why the Winged Whale Sings by Christopher Moore Hahahahahah!! Just read it for the Orca’s. OMG I was laughing so hard at parts of this book that people were looking at me funny. Studying whales is not all what is expected in this book about whales that are not whales.

FYI Colin Meloy is the lead singer of The Decemberists a band that I love.

Leave a Reply

