Katzenjammer

Once Upon a Time IIV

9 Comments

Once Upon a Time IIV

It is that time again for Stainless Steel Droppings Once Upon a Time challenge. I love that Carl does this for us and this challenge is one of my favortes in the whole year.This year I will be participating in Quest the First. That is to read five books out of the genres of Myth, Folklore, Fariy Tale, and Fantasy. Some of my favorite genres.

questthefirstnumber7

 

When I did this last year I did not go off a list and I only read 3 books. I have found that I have better luck with lists than not. Having said that I am working on putting my list together as I write this. So far I have on my list.

Wildwood by Colin Meloy and illustrations by Carson Ellis a clunker at 541 pages

Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl also a clunker at 503 pages

Spirits in the Wires by Charles de Lint ( my favorite author of all time next to Dr. Seuss) pages 448

OMG I am going to have to find two short books.

Quag Keep by Andre Norton I am not looking at the pages, but as this is a Dungeons and Dragons book it should not be that long.

Fluke Or, I  Know Why the Winged Whale Sings by Christopher Moore pages 305

Ok, now I want to know how many pages Quag Keep is.

 

9 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time IIV

  1. I like saying the phrase “Quest the First.” Makes me feel all medieval-y.

  2. I read Spirits in the Wires a few months ago, a very interesting mash-up of fantasy and computers. I’ll look forward to hearing what you think!

  3. Gah! Reading your blog has suddenly gotten very dangerous. Something about my Kindle and that “Buy” button. haha (I finished Book of Secrets. It did not end up at all how I imagined. Which is a good thing, I think.)

    • It is different is it not. The whole Crystal City thing was a bit odd, but ok. I was hoping that in reading pulp books there was a hidden code in say every other word or something.

      • I just figured the guy was going to end up dead in a ditch. The grandfather thing turned out pretty cool though. I kept alternating between reading and watching Black Books (another chain smoking drunk asshole! hehe).

      • That was one thing about the book that I found odd. I do not know many smokers anymore and it just seemed strange how important they were to him.

      • And Camels. The guy had some kind of death wish. snort

Leave a Reply

