Katzenjammer

I did it. WOohoo

Leave a comment

 

Last December I signed up for the TBR reading challenge. I just finished my 12th book. Onaedo-The Blacksmiths Daughter by Ngozi Achebe. I will have to say that this is not the typical book that I read it was chosen as I love to read local authors and Dr. Achebe is not only local for me but a co-worker as well.  That being said on to the book.

This is going to be one of the more difficult reviews that I have had to write. Let me start with a question. Do you know how when watching a movie or reading a book you know something bad is going to happen to the main character, and there is that feeling of fear in the gut that just does not go away? That is what this book made me feel.

From reading the synopsis that I knew going in that this book would have that feeling to it. I knew that there would be parts that I did not want to read. in fact several times I had to put the book down and walk away.  That being said, the story is fascinating, one that I am so glad that I read. I know about our history here in the states dealing with this subject matter, and I know that it also occurred in the rest of the world, but never thought about it.

For me the hardest part of the book other than the feeling it gave me was learning the names of the people.  Igbo names are not common to me and it took a few chapters to get them set in my head. I am sure that I am still mispronouncing them when I read them. The book has a very slow pace, and for this subject matter that is a wonderful thing.

The book also makes me wonder how many other stories out there are waiting to be told. Dr. Achebe has told me that there is another book in the works. Now, I just have to find out when it comes out so I can finnish reading this story of a most fascinating woman. In my reviews I try not to give away anything about the book as I do not want to spoil it for other readers. This is a book I want someone to read so we can talk about it.

Leave a Reply

