Katzenjammer

The Man Who Loved Books Too Much

2 Comments

 

This book was on my shelf and on my list for my TBR challenge. The Man Who Loved Books Too Much: The True Story of a Thief, a Detective and a World of Literary Obsession by Allison Hoover Bartlett was not what I expected it to be about.

This review is going to be difficult to write without giving anything away. If I talk about the books, I ca let slip what happened. If I talk about the thief, I can let slip what happened.  So I have to try to find a way to tell about the book without giving anything away.

Did I like the book? Yes. Did I learn anything from the book? Yes. Would I recommend it to anyone who loved mysteries and books about books? Yes.

I think the thing that amazed me the most about this book was the man who stole the books. His attitude was that of entitlement, that if others had not stopped him from getting what he wanted he would not have stolen. The whole idea behind how he thinks is very interesting. I will never understand that level of entitlement no matter who long I live.

The neat thing about this book, is the view that collectors take on the books. For some it is the only way they can get close to the author, to others it is an act of preservation, keeping the stories for the generations to come. For some the possession of the books are a status symbol, a showing that in having a library that they are better than anyone else. This does not matter if they read them or not.

A very good book on the topic.

2 thoughts on “The Man Who Loved Books Too Much

Leave a Reply

