Katzenjammer

Hen’s Teeth by Manda Scott

2 Comments

I originally picked Hen’s Teeth by Manda Scott for one of the Orange reading challenges. While this book did not win the Orange Prize it was on the long list in 1997. When I did not read it for the the Orange list, I decided to put it on the TBR reading challenge, and to be honest I did not expect to like this book.

Not, because of the subject matter but because almost every book I have read for the Orange I have not liked. I did like Ursula Under that I read for Orange but that was another post. This time I want to talk about Hen’s Teeth.

I liked Hen’s Teeth for two reasons. One is I could not figure out who did it. This for me was wonderful.  Many of the mysteries that I have read are easy to figure out or the author discloses who did it at the beginning of the book, and works back to solve it. I love mysteries that I cannot solve in the first few pages.

The second thing that I liked about this book is that the main character was LGTB, but that was not the focus of the story. The story was about the whodunit and why. The LGTB was put in there are this is who I am and there were other characters in there who were either bi or straight.  That is so hard to find in a lesbian character driven book.

I will look and see if there are more mysteries by this author involving this character.

2 thoughts on “Hen’s Teeth by Manda Scott

  1. I imagine the title comes from that old saying “as scarce as hen’s teeth”? I had an old auntie who always used that expression.

Leave a Reply

