Katzenjammer

Intersting Questions

2 Comments

Jessica over at Books: A True Story has some interesting questions on book descriptions, and I thought that they require more than a one line answer, as for me there is not really an easy answer to some of the questions. So here goes.

  • Do you like book descriptions?
  • Yes and no.
  • Do you read them? If you do, why? (I really want to know this one.  I feel like I might be missing out on something.)
  • I read them on works of non-fiction to see if they will contain the information that I am looking for. If I am not buying a book and am waiting for someone, I will read the book description. What gets my interest in a work of fiction is the writing style in the content of the book.
  • Do they help you decide if you want to read a book?
  • Only if it is non-fiction. Sometimes, they help me decide I do not want to read the book.
  • Would you like to see full book summaries in my review or would you rather have me briefly introduce the book in my review?
  • I would rather read your thought, feelings, and impressions on a book or writing style. If I want a summary I can go to a book seller website or a site like goodreads.
2 thoughts on “Intersting Questions

  1. Great answers. You’re not the first person to say they had a love/hate relationship with book descriptions. I like your comment about how they help you decide to not read a book. I’ve gone back and read book descriptions once I’m done with the book and I don’t think I would have picked up the book based on the description. I think the same thing about book descriptions in reviews – I just like seeing what the reviewer thought about the book in their reviews. Thank you so much for this post!

Leave a Reply

