Katzenjammer

R.I.P #2

2 Comments

 

One of the books on my list was Into The Dream by William Sleater. This book was a re-read, I first read it when I was a kid, and it scared the crap out of me. The book even as an adult affects me, as I still cannot get on a ferris wheel. I will thanks to Mr Sleater never be able to get on a ferris wheel. As a kid, this was an exciting book full of possibility,  full of what if that did happen somewhere.  What is there were powers like that I want to have them.

Reading this as an adult, it was a very different experience. First I did know how the story ended, I did not remember all of the details of the book and that is ok. I read it more for a nostalgia read, than a read to be scared. Reading the book took me back to what got me into reading sifi, fantasy, and horror. This book was one that turned me into a reader. This was a for me, a precursor to Dean Koontz and the like.

This is a book that if you had a young reader in the house, about 10 or so. I would give the kid this book. Next year, I am going to have to do a reread on a book I read as a kid. I liked the idea of revisiting part of what made me a reader.

2 thoughts on “R.I.P #2

  1. I love to go back once in awhile and read books like this that creeped me out as a kid. I read a William Sleator book, Among the Dolls, a few years ago and really enjoyed it. It was a quick story but had a nice eerie quality.

Leave a Reply

