Katzenjammer

R.I.P #1

17 Comments

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs is the first book that I have read for R.I.P number seven.  I have to say that I both liked and did not like this book. I know that is a very confusing statement but let me explain. This book was great on so many levels and it could have been better on all of those levels.

The mythology of the book is a very neat idea, the idea of Peculiars and the ones who take care of them. The  monsters hunting them, and how they are protected by ones like Miss Peregrine.  That idea and how it was put together could have been so well done, and it started out that way. Then somewhere something got lost. I do not know if it was that I felt no connection to the main character, he was spoiled and a brat. Or if I was hoping for just a mystery/adventure/fantasy book and instead it turned into a romance. The Romance seemed to be just tossed in there almost as if it had to be.

I wish that the author had taken that next step to make it scary, to make it more. I am not sure what the book for me was missing, but it was missing something.  I know that this book is the first in a series. I wish that it had been a standalone book. I miss stand alone books.

I will read the next book in hopes that the author takes it to that next level. However, I will wait to get it from the library.

17 thoughts on “R.I.P #1

  1. I’ve heard mixed reviews about this one, but I still want to read it. I hope the next one improves for you.

    • I did like it. I just wish it had been more. I think what it was for me was all the wonderful reviews that it got. I was expecting a “big bang” and got a “bang”.

  2. Hmmm, too bad it wasn’t better. Aren’t they making a movie of this book? Can’t remember for sure.

  3. I’m about 2/3 of the way done and am enjoying it a lot thus far, but I do like the kind of meandering suspenseful pacing.

  4. I bought this book last year, anticipating to read for RIP VI but never got around to it, so I thought I’d save it for RIP VII. However, I’ve read a lot of mixed reviews and now yours, so I’m not sure if I’ll be including it this time around either. I like to really up the ante for the gloomy/creepy/scary during the cooler months. It’s unfortunate that this isn’t as scary as it looks like it might be with all of those really odd photos, what a shame.

    • Last year one of the books that I read was very scary, I loved it. I wish I could find another one like it. Part of the title was “Crickley Hall”. I love a good scary book, and I was hoping that this was one. Oh well better luck on the next one.

  5. I actually loved this book very much. I’ve read similar reviews and while I can take a step back and see some of those problems they didn’t at all affect my enjoyment of the book when I read it when it came out. I was swept right up in it and enjoyed it very much. I too hope for improvement in the next book simply because I want to see authors grow. I liked the sci fi elements of the story too, which were something of a surprise for me.

    • I could not put the book down. I think I read it in four hours, and only took a break for more coffee and the bathroom. I just wish that there had been a little more. I will be reading the next one.

  6. I read the book and it was “enjoyable” but I was disappointed towards the end .

  7. I had the exact same reaction. There seemed to be something missing, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on what it was. (I’m about 7/8 finished.) One of the difficulties is that it is sort of two books–before the island and after the island. It proved problematic to make the two parts work.

    • Hi Deb
      Go on and finish the book, I want to hear what you think of the ending and of the whole book. I do hope that the next book has go the more. I did enjoy it and I am going to pass the book along to my Honey Love. I will read the next one in because it is good, just not as good as I thought it would be.

  8. Not read this one yet but hoping to do so. It has had mixed reactions but something draws me to reading it.
    Lynn:D

  9. I just posted my review for this one. As you say it was an unique book, and I can’t wait to see how the story continues

Leave a Reply

