Katzenjammer

The Thrill of The Season

6 Comments

 

It is that time of year again. The time of year when life changes, the seasons change, and wonderful things appear as if by magic. The leaves on the trees are starting to turn, pumpkin ale is again showing up at the stores, and Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings is again running R.I.P. I love everything about R.I.P. From curling up with a good book and a hot cuppa to the artwork that each year Carl chooses.  This year I am going to do

This is reading four books that fall into the categories of;

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.
Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above.

This year my list includes but is not limited too:

Miss Peregrine”s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (I bought this in hardback last year for R.I.P to read this year. I know nuts.)

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova trade paper

Into The Dream by William Sleator paper back

Christine Falls by Benjamin Black trade paper

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern Honey is saving this one for me

The Restorer by Amanda Stevens on Nook

Cemetery Village by Mike Sincere on Nook

The Haunting of Maddy Clare by Simone St James library

I had better get reading. All I need is a cuppa and some cold rainy nights.

6 thoughts on “The Thrill of The Season

  1. I’ve heard wonderful things about Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children — looking forward to your review of it!

  2. Pumpkin ale! You have my mouth watering!!! Even more when I see your list of potential reads. I’m wanting to read The Night Circus and The Historian for my R.I.P. experience this year as well. Hopefully I’ll get to both of them. Have a wonderful time and thanks so much for taking part.

    • I have never had pumpkin ale before so when I open the bottle it will be a new experance for me. I started The Historian last night, and when Friday rolls around I will read all night.

      • Friday sounds like fun!

        I really like Samuel Addams’ October Fest, which comes out around this time every year. There used to be a restaurant in town where you could get it on tap and it was great, but sadly they closed down.

      • Oh, that is to bad, I would like to have tried it on tap. I got Elysian Night Owl. Elysian is a Seattle company, and I like some of their other beers.

Leave a Reply

