Katzenjammer

Stone Butch Blues

3 Comments

I read Stone Butch Blues by Leslie Feinberg for the South Sound Lesbians bookgroup.  I have tried to read this book several times before and never got past the first few pages.  I am not sure how to go about talking about this book without making some people upset, so I am just going to go for it.

For me this book was just an exercise in bad judgment. Oh, I know that Jess was Jess and who we are born as is not a choice. I know that life and a$$holes can make things very miserable.  Jess wants a change but does nothing to change, every time it is the same thing bars, drinking, bars more drinking. The few times that Jess went out and did not drink there was much teasing, and people to trying to buy and force alcohol on her.

Yes, I know that in many many ways Jess was a victim. I know things are hard to get over, that they come back, that it is never easy.  In all that there are times of hope, and joy. Jess never seemed to have any of that, never. She burned bridges, tossed friends aside as if the were gum wrappers she had nothing.

There was one thing in the book that I wish the author had focused more on and that was the unions. The way the women were excluded or thought they were excluded from the meetings. When the author wrote about the unions it seemed as if her writing came alive. There was a spark there.

I almost reading this book wish I could get back the two hours it took to read it.

3 thoughts on “Stone Butch Blues

  1. I read “Stone Butch Blues” many years ago in my lesbomania phase and you know, I don’t remember a damn thing about it apart from what “stone butch” means. So I guess it didn’t make a lasting impression.

  2. I found it a really tragic tale. I keep it in my permanent collection as part of a sub genre that I don’t fully understand. Nor would I want to. But, I think it’s a fine piece of writing. On my horrible books list with the most unsympathetic whiner of all time, I choose Catcher in the Rye. Holden Caufield is a horribly rotten jerk. There I said it out loud, sorta.

Leave a Reply

