Katzenjammer

Two for One

4 Comments

This morning I finished two books for the Once Upon a Time Challenge. I read The Dark Wife by Sarah Diemer and Dealing With Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede.

 

Dealing With Dragons is a children’s book. I knew going into it that is was written for 11ish year olds. I know a bit young for me, but the heroine Cimorene is everything I want in a heroine. She is smart, funny, willing to buck the system, and stand up for what she believes in. I love how the book starts out tell about how wonderful it is to be a princess and how much Cimorene hated it. How, she does not want to be a perfect princess, does not want to fit into the box that her parents and the world expect of her. This is the first of four books and I am going to read all of them. If I had a preteen girl in the family, I would get her each book and read them with her. There is nothing wrong with being smart, and standing up for what you believe in.

The Dark Wife, is a YA story of love. I will be the first to admit that I am not into romance novels and while this is one it to me does not through the romance into ones face. This is the story of Persephone and Hades told from the view of Persephone. How her life is sheltered and perfect. Then she falls in love and that love is taken away by Zuse who she later finds out is her father. She runs to Hades. There she finds out that the truth she has known is not truth it is a lie.  The first lie that she deals with is that of Hades, herself. Yes, Hades is not the Lord of the Underworld she is the Lady of the Underworld. I loved it. Sarah Diemer is now among my favorite authors.

4 thoughts on “Two for One

  1. Perfect timing – I am needing a small gift for a friend’s young daughter. This sounds perfect. Thanks.

  2. I LOVE Dealing with Dragons. I probably read it originally when I was actually the target age group, but it’s still wonderful now. Cimorene is a great heroine! And if anything, I think the next two books get better, with more elaborate magic and lots of humor. And #4 is good too, though #3 is my favorite!

Leave a Reply

